Um, hi. Remember me?

No?  That’s alright, I kinda left for a month or so, but if you saw my schedule for June you would totally understand.

Well I’m officially a high school graduate! 😀 Actually not really because my school has commencement in November, which I will never understand….  I feel kind of bad because I wasn’t sad on the last day of school.  It’s not like I didn’t have any friends, or people I cared about.  Actually I got really close with a few people this semester and year and when it clicks in that I may never see them again, I’ll probably break down crying for a week.

I think it might have something to do with the fact that I was getting really sick of high school really fast.  There were a lot of people who pissed me off way more than they should have and I was done every class a week before everyone else.  I had a really easy semester and just couldn’t be bothered with just showing up anymore.  When the last day came I was stoked!! There were so many people I’d never have to see again; so many classes that I would never have to take again; so many 3% assignments that I would never have to be bothered with again.  But there were also people that I cared very deeply for that I would probably never see.

Even now as I write that, I don’t believe it.  I keep thinking I’ll see them next year or I’ll see them around.  My very best friend is going to the same University as me and I’ve already seen her pretty much every day this summer!  There are maybe three or four people who I will truly miss, and I have plans with them and will see them again.  But with all my other friends and acquaintances I kinda feel like, “It was nice knowing you.  We had a good four years, but we never hung out outside of school and I’m not going to pretend to know.”  

Sorry, that sounds really bitter, but I swear it’s not.  It’s just me accepting reality and choosing too put all my energy into seeing the people I will miss.

I feel like Prom was also too early to expect the students to do all their work still.  For weeks everyone was stressing about Prom and the work they had to get done before Prom, that no one thought of what would happen after Prom was done.  We still had assignments, summatives and exams, but because Prom is the biggest social event of your high school career people chose to forget about the last quarter of the semester and of their senior year.  A lot of my friends just stopped doing work, people stopped showing up and people were definitely not trying their hardest.

I can’t say that it had that big of an impact on people though.  I still graduated.  I was still the most prepared for my English exam (which I finished an hour early!) And I still got into University with a scholarship and bursaries.

It was fun high school, but I think we’re all ready to move on!

One thought on “Um, hi. Remember me?

  1. Congrats! I bet it feels good to be free 😛 Exam time is always my favourite time of year, even though I’m worn out by the end of them. I like being done with the seemingly endless stream of deadlines and commitments.
    Anyways, it’s good to hear from you again 🙂

Leave a Reply

