A Book Questionnaire!

I’ve wanted to do this for a while now! I found it on a blog I follow and there are rules but I don’t follow rules so here you go! Enjoy and feel free to do it yourself 🙂

Your Favorite Book Cover:

The cover of She’s So Dead to Us by Kieran Scott.  It’s so simple and elegant but I love it!Image

 

What are you reading right now?

The Uses and Abuses of History by Margaret MacMillan

Do you have any idea what you’ll read when you’re done with that?

Yes! Empress of the Seven Hills by Kate Quinn then The Gypsy King by Maureen Fergus

What five books have you always wanted to read but haven’t got round to? 

  1. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
  2. The Beautiful and Damned by F. Scott Fitzgerald

Actually those are really the only ones I’ve wanted to read forever and haven’t, but I have a couple others that are on my list to buy/read when they come out (or when I get to Chapters!)

  1. The One by Kiera Cass
  2. The Siren by Kiera Cass
  3. Emerald Green by Kerstin Gier

 

What magazines do you have in your bathroom/ lounge right now?

 None in my bathroom/lounge, but I do read Dance Spirit and have the Elle Canada App on my phone.

What’s the worst book you’ve ever read?

Oh boy, I have three that I absolutely hated! Didn’t even make it through the first one!

  1. Dogs Don’t Tell Jokes by Louis Sachar (Yes, it’s a children’s book. Bite me.)
  2. The Expressologist by Kristina Springer (Great idea, but poorly executed.)
  3. Gingerbread by Rachel Cohn (Honestly, I couldn’t even tell you what this one is about.)

What book seemed really popular but you didn’t like?

The Twilight series.  Granted, I never read them, but they really didn’t appeal to me.  I read sections from my friend’s copies but never got very far.

What are your three favourite poems?

I don’t read poetry but I have found some short poems on We Heart It.  Some are anonymous and some are really depressing but pretty.  Here they are:

 Image Image Image

And then of course there`s always The Hanging Tree by Suzanne Collins.

 

Where do you usually get your books?

Chapters.  Always Chapters- or from relatives.

 

When you were little, did you have any particular reading habits?

Um, I don’t think so…? Mom, dad?

 

What’s the last thing you stayed up half the night reading because it was too good to put down?

Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky.  I read that in one day.

 

Have you ever “faked” reading a book?

Not a whole book, but I totally didn’t read about forty pages in 1984 by George Orwell.  I had to read that for English last year and I really didn’t like the majority of it.  Btw, guess what’s on my reading list this semester -_-

 

Have you ever bought a book just because you liked the cover?

All the time.  I’m horrible for judging books by their covers.  I always pick up interesting looking books and then I read what they’re about.  If I still like it I’ll buy it.

 

What was your favourite book when you were a child?

Before I Go to Sleep by Thomas Hood, illustrated by Maryjane Begin

 

What book changed your life?

Hmm, The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins had a pretty big impact on my life.  Oh! And the Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater.  Amazing.  It takes me on an emotional rollercoaster every time.

 

What is your favourite passage from a book?

Can I pick more than one? I have so many that I love, including the pregnant goat scene from Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins, as well as when Katniss gets drunk.  I really wanted to use something from the Scorpio Races and nearly ended up rereading the whole book.  Here’s just one of my favourites:

“Finn begins to dole the dumplings out into bowls while I swipe up the spill. Tommy chatters on about how his uisce mare lets herself get pushed around by the other horses but perks ups when she sees their asses. Gabe gives everyone a glass of water whether or not they asked for it. And all the while I try very hard to keep my eyes from darting to Sean because I’m quite certain that no one at the table will be able to miss how I look at him and how I find him looking back.” (Stiefvater, 338)

 

Who are your top five favourite authors?

In no real order- they’re all amazing at what they do

  1. Eric Walters
  2. Lisi Harrison
  3. Maggie Stiefvater
  4. Kristin Cashore
  5. Kiera Cass

What book has no one heard about but should read?

The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater, The Selection by Kiera Cass, Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore.

People very well might have heard of them, but hardly any of my friends have!

 

What are your favourite books by a first time author?

Probably The Selection by Kiera Cass

 

What is your favourite classic book?

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

 

Five other notable mentions?

  1. The Adventures of Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll,
  2. The Tin Flute by Gabrielle Roy
  3. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
  4. The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini
  5. The Help buy Kathryn Stocket
Leave a Reply

