Look What a Writing Prompt Can Do!

Image I try to write something everyday, usually it’s just a quick note or a to-do list or a line that popped into my head, but regardless I make sure I pick up a pen (or use a keyboard) and write something every day.

Some days are better than others and I write short stories or chapters for my novel. Other days I want to write, but need an idea. That’s when I turn to my book full of writing prompts that I got from chapters last year. I love it and their are so many prompts I have bookmarked for when I have time to sit and plan out every detail.

The prompt I did yesterday was “Put your iPod on shuffle. Write down the lyrics of the first song and use that as your opening line.”

I sorta followed the rules. I skipped the first song because it was “I Knew You Were Trouble” by T-Swift and we all know that her songs already tell stories. It’d be hard to write something different.

So I ended up using my second song- “Save Rock and Roll” by Fall Out Boy (:D) The lyrics were “I’ve cried tears you’ll never see, so fuck you! You can go cry me an ocean and leave me be.” Powerful. I spread the lyrics out throughout the story, but for the most part I was really pleased with the results. Enjoy.

***

“No! I’ve cried tears you’ll never see.” I shouted, “You always do this! You always make me feel worthless. I’m done. We’re done.” I turned to walk away.

“Rosalyn,” he calls, “Rose…Rosie, baby.” I keep walking, wanting to put as much distance between us as possible.

“Babe! C’mon. You can’t be serious.”

“Fuck you!” I whip around and glare at Calvin. I can’t look at him without feeling angry. He cocks his head and gives me that winning smile that made me return to him so many times after he made me cry my heart out. But this time it’s different.

I’m not crying.

“Rosalyn, baby, keep your voice down.” Calvin starts to walk towards me, closing the distance I so badly wanted to keep.

“We can’t keep doing this, Rosie. Just because a girl says hi.” He reached for my hand, but I pulled it back, afraid of the burns his touch would leave.

“You don’t get it, Calvin! Girls say hi to you all the time and that’s fine. It’s when you completely belittle me and don’t even mention that I’m your girlfriend so you can flirt with the pretty waitress or that girl in the library…or anything else that looks your way! I have spent way too long waiting for you to stop. For you to be that endearing guy I met- the same one you are around all those other girls. I have gone home after so many of our dates crying because I didn’t think I was good enough for you. Well you know what, Calvin? The truth is you aren’t good enough for me!”

Calvin actually looks hurt by my last comment. Good, he’ll know what the last sixteen months have felt like for me.

“Rosalyn, I-I had no idea. I’m sorry.” He whispered.

“Bull. Goodbye, Calvin.”

“Wait, Rosalyn! I don’t know what I’ll do without you.”

“You’ll manage,” I throw over my shoulder.

“Really? You’re heartless enough to leave me crying?”

I stopped in my tracks. He was crying?

I turned around and sure enough there were tears in his eyes. I let out a single harsh laugh.

“You can go cry me an ocean, but leave me be.”

I gave Calvin one last glare before walking under the 26th Annual County Fair sign and heading to my car. Calvin, I’m sure, could find his own way home.

The End.

 

Surprisingly I wrote this when I was in a very good mood.

Stay Awkward,

Em

Leave a Reply

