O Canada….

Hey all! It’s been a while since I did a blog post just about life. Over the summer I focused a lot on posting fiction- I guess I just had a creative outpouring or something. (I also participated in Alex’s Your Story project which can be found here!) However now that I’m back in school and starting to settle into second year, life is just kind of here and happening.

Today I was walking to my bus stop, which is about a 12 minute walk but I do it in 5 because I speed walk everywhere, when I just stopped. I had one of those perfect moments where it felt like I was seeing everything for the first time and the world just slowed down.

It wasn’t even because anything extraordinary happened- it was honestly just some mundane thing that made me realize how precious life is, and more importantly how beautiful this country I live in is.

As I was speed walking to the bus stop I heard a couple of Canadian Geese behind me. Nothing unusual- my neighbourhood and University campus is plagued by them. Usually I would roll my eyes and continue on, hoping not to get hissed at first thing in the morning. This time, as I heard the geese get closer and take flight, I looked up. I had this gut feeling that I needed to look up, and of course I assumed it was because I was about to get pooped on. But as I looked up I was completely overwhelmed with the perfect image of two very large Canadian Geese flying directly into the sunlight. The sky was a clear bright blue, completely empty of any clouds, smoke, smog, noise, anything! It was just two perfect geese flying above one of the forests near my house.

Maybe I felt extra sappy in that moment, or maybe it has to do with my recent obsession over the Amazing Race Canada. I don’t know exactly what it was but in that one short moment, I knew that my country was beautiful and that I wouldn’t have wanted to be anywhere else in that moment.

I continued on my walk, but I walked slower. This image of the geese has stuck with me all day, and believe me when I say it’s been a long day! Recently I’ve been considering planning my first big trip to take by myself this summer. My generation is obsessed with travelling and I’m making a pact to go somewhere new at least once a year. This summer for example I went to the Molson Canadian Amphitheatre and saw my first concert (Fall Out Boy!!) Toronto itself wasn’t a new place for me, but the experience in general was and it was amazing! Anyways, I’d obviously like to travel to England where my family is from, or go eat delicious pasta in Italy. I’d love to tour historical sites in Egypt, or spend a week on a tropical island. These are all things I plan to do someday, but they aren’t where I want to start.

I want to start in Canada. I want to visit the set of Corner Gas in Saskatchewan or see what the territories are really like. I want to see Halifax, where I almost moved for school. And I really want to visit Prince Edward Island- the province that I truly believe will be my home one day.

Canada is a beautiful country beyond what words can describe. As much as I poke fun at the fact that I’m Canadian, I don’t really think I could be anything else. I’ve known for a while now that I’ve wanted to explore Canada better, and that I think it has to be something I do on my own, but it was today when my breath stopped as the geese flew over me that I realized just how deeply passionate I am about this magnificent country where I live.

Is there a part or aspect of Canada that you find breathtaking? Is there an image that you have in your mind of what embodies what Canada truly is? And did you by any chance watch the Amazing Race Canada? Let me know and feel free to leave any suggestions for my first real grown up vacation!

Xo Em 🙂

Leave a Reply

