The 777 Writing Challenge

Yesterday, I was nominated by Alex to do the 777 Writing Challenge. Now I’m not usually one to participate in these challenges (and certainly not so quickly) but I’m tired of writing academia and can’t wait until I can start just writing again next week! I have so many new ideas and so many additions to add to old stories. I can’t wait for this summer and to share some of my stuff with you!

So the purpose of this challenge is to go to the 7th page of your work in progress and scroll down to line 7. Then you post that line and the 7 lines afterwards. Tag 7 people.

Okay so the work in progress I chose is one that I’m most excited about (and one I feel guilty about neglecting); I chose….”The Night Before.”

But Emerald, you said you’d post that on New Year’s.

Yeah, I know. Stuff happens. Get over it.

Anyways, on to the snippet from the story. (I tried to cheat because there are so many more exciting lines in this story, but I didn’t. I’m following the rules.)

She called me on my last break and asked when my shift was over. Ten minutes before closing she was ordering a chocolate chip cookie and waiting for me in her car.

“Hey,” she said as I walked to her car.

“Hey, so what are we doing tonight?”

“Well, I was hoping we could go out?”

“No offense, but I’d rather not get drunk again tonight. Working with a hangover is about as fun as it sounds.”

So anyway, there’s the most boring piece of dialogue in my story. I think as treat- because I don’t like these rules and to make up for my absence- I will also share the first line, my favourite section and the last line I’ve written at the moment. Here:

Winking was dangerous.

***

She unbuttoned my pants.

A lace bra went flying.

I knocked her deodorant off her nightstand.

Ava’s laugh rang out and pierced my ear.

I mumbled her name. She screamed mine.

A door open. We stopped everything.

We were panting as we tried to catch our breath. I asked if I should hide, she told me to shut up for a second.

***

“Are you sure you want to go out? We could just stay here. I’m sure we’ll have fun,” I kissed her neck before setting her back on the floor.

***

Man, I can’t wait to get back to writing this piece. I had to physically stop myself from writing more right now, because I have an essay to write that’s due tomorrow. Oops.

Okay, for tagging people to continue this challenge, I only have one. I would like to tag my good friend, Lori. We’ve been working on our writing together and I have to say, having her around has helped me so much. She recently started a blog so she could experiment with her writing style. Because it is still in the experimental stages, she has refused to tell me the name of her blog. So I challenge her, wherever her blog may be, to take the 777 writing challenge. Who knows, maybe you’ll stumble across her blog someday- tell her I say hi! 😉

xo Em

Leave a Reply

