What Happens When You Don’t Want to Write Anymore

Hello (to anyone who is still follow this sporadic blog!)

Last term, I took my first University creative writing class! This class was…okay, but not great. We started the term with my professor telling us not to be a writer. It was discouraging to say the least, but I did develop my skill and learned quite a bit about myself as a writer. I wrote a collection of poems that I didn’t hate, and finally put a short story idea to paper. All, in all it was a good experience, but it left me wondering if I wanted to work towards being a writer. I started thinking that maybe being a writer wasn’t worth it. I got very discouraged- not because of any critiques on my work, but from a lack of passion that I was expecting with this class.

Unfortunately, my school only offers two courses- one open to all and the other is invite only.

Near the end of the term, I got an email asking me to submit a portfolio to be considered for the second creative writing class. I flipped back and forth on it for a while before finally deciding to submit a portfolio the night before the deadline. I didn’t expect much and so I was absolutely thrilled to find out I had been accepted.

Flash forward to Christmas break- a time when I usually do four months of writing- and there I was sitting on my bed rethinking my entire plan for after University. I did not want to write. I didn’t have writer’s block- I was full of ideas- but I had zero desire to actually sit down and write.

It was hard.

I hated feeling this way and I knew I should just try writing anyways. I began to feel that desire to write when my amazing writer friend, Lori came back into town for a few days. Talking to her always inspires me! I was feeling better, but still not ready to write.

It wasn’t until the first day of second term when I sat in my new creative writing class and considered dropping it, that I found the need to write again.

I am incredibly happy to say that I am back to writing! I love it and I feel more like myself than I have in a long time! And of course, my plans for after University are restored.

I am working on a very exciting project right now that I hope I can tell you more about soon. 🙂

As for now, I just want to say thank you to anyone who has ever encouraged me to write. You don’t realize how much you need that until you are at a place where you don’t want to do the thing that makes you happiest.

I also want to apologize to anyone who had to interact with me over the Christmas break when I wasn’t myself. 

I hope you are all having a great 2016 so far! I’ll try to get on this blog a little more from now on.

-Em

discouraged

Leave a Reply

