To My Friend with Depression

To my friend with depression,

I can’t promise to cure you. I’m not a mental health care professional and frankly, I give terrible advice.

I can’t promise not to make a joke. I’m funny by nature, and use humor as a coping mechanism.

But I can promise you this: I will never make a joke that is cruel or insensitive.

I will try to make you laugh and smile.

I will listen when you just want to talk or when you want to send me a 15 message rant.

I will tell you about the time I got my head stuck in a chair when you just need a distraction for a while.

I will go get ice cream with you.

We can watch a movie or drink in silence.

I will talk your ear off.

I will give you a hug even though I don’t like physical contact.

I will answer the phone when you call (or at least respond as soon as possible).

I will try not to cancel our plans.

I cannot promise that it will all be better – these things take time – but I promise to help you see the light a little bit every day.

I will help you list all the great things about this world when all you want to do is enter the darkness.

I will make you a coffee and hand you my colouring book.

I won’t pretend I know exactly how you feel.  I don’t, but I will try to understand.

I won’t push you to talk about it, but I won’t recommend that you keep it bottled up.

I will encourage you to find the proper therapy.

No, I’m not going to cure you. But I will be here, because I want you to be here too.

3 thoughts on “To My Friend with Depression

    • Thank you! 🙂 it’s certainly important to spread awareness and let people know that even if they aren’t experiencing the exact same thing, there are people who want to help.

Leave a Reply

